Now Playing
On Air
No Program
Now Playing

Posted: September 09, 2017

Curfews announced for South Florida Cities in response to Irma 

By Edwards Antoine

Due to Hurricane Irma’s strong winds and rainfall, cities across South Florida have begun announcing curfews.

Broward County

Broward County will be implementing a county-wide curfew, starting at 4 p.m., Saturday.

Follow the 7News Local News Channel

The City of Coral Springs has announced a curfew for 8 p.m., Saturday, which will end at 6 a.m. the following day. This curfew prohibits all vehicle and pedestrian movement.

The Cities of Deerfield Beach and Hillsboro Beach announced a curfew beginning at noon, Saturday, for the barrier island, while a citywide curfew is expected later in the afternoon. In a news release, officials said the bridges leading onto the barrier island have been locked in the down position. Barrier island residents will only be allowed into their homes with proof of residency and photo ID.

Miami-Dade County

The City of Miami has announced a curfew from 7 p.m. Saturday to 7 a.m. Sunday.

The City of Miami Beach has ordered a curfew from 8 p.m. to 7 p.m. for the next three nights: Saturday, Sunday, and Monday.

The City of North Miami Beach announced a curfew from 8 p.m. Saturday to 7 a.m. Sunday.

The Village of Key Biscayne will be under a curfew from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. until further notice.

There are no comments yet. Be the first to post your thoughts. or Register.